Highlights of the Year

During the 2020-21 school year, the West Debate Team had 48 Competing Members. We competed in the following tournaments with the finishes:

Grapevine Classic

CX Galian & Rice — Semi-Finals
CX Speaker Award Hanna Rice — 8th Place
CX Summerhays & Wall — Doubles
CX Speaker Award Ethan Wall — 7th Place
JV CX Aoki & Pai — Semis
JV CX Speaker Award Saathvik Pai — 4th Place
JV CX Speaker Award Seiji Aoki — 7th Place
JV CX Mussett Shaw & Rao — Finals
JV CX Speaker Award Cleo Mussett-Shaw — 9th Place
JV LD Amrita Krishna — Quarters
JV LD Speaker Award Amrita Krishna — 10th Place
JV PF May & Senthilkumar — Finals

National Speech and Debate Season Opener

International Extemp Adelaide Parker – Semis

Greenhill Fall Classic

CX Galian & Rice - Doubles

Jack Howe Memorial Tournament

Congress Olivia Hoffmann - Semis Extemp Adelaide Parker — Semis Oral Interpretation Adelaide Parker — Finals

Mid America Cup

CX Peterson & Sharma - Octas PF May & Senthilkumar - Triples

Yale University Invitational

Extemp Adelaide Parker - Quarters

Highland Novice Ram Jam Slam

Young Lawyers

CX Pai & Sharma Semis

CX Speaker Award Saathvik Pai – 10th Place

CX Liu & Mussett Shaw – Semis

CX Speaker Award Cleo Mussett-Shaw – 6th Place

CX Speaker Award Marianne Liu – 7th Place

CX Summerhays & Wall – Finals

CX Speaker Award Ethan Wall – 1st Place

CX Speaker Award Taisei Summerhays – 4th Place

PF Liu & Taussky – Quarters

PF Speaker Award Ronak Agarwal – 2nd Place

PF Speaker Award Brendon Young – 5th Place

Westlake Thunderdome Virtual Invitational

Florida Blue Key Speech and Debate Tournament

Extemp Adelaide Parker - Octas

The Iowa Caucus Debates

The Meadows Invitational

University of Michigan HS Debate Tournament

CX Galian & Rice – Semis
CX Speaker Award Madeline Galian – 9th Place
CX Round Robin Galian & Rice – 3rd Place
CX RR Speaker Award Hanna Rice – 3rd Place

Apple Valley MinneApple Debate Tournament

UDCA Speech Arts Debate

CX Peterson & Sharma – Finals – 1st CX Speaker Award R. Sterling Peterson – 5th Place CX Speaker Award Ishan Sharma – 8th Place

Silver and Blue

Urban Debate Dragon Invitational

CX Peterson & Sharma - Octas

Skyhawk Smackdown

Declamation Adelaide Parker – 3rd Place Extemp Adelaide Parker – 1st Place Freedom Speech Adelaide Parker – 1st Place Freedom Speech Cash Mendenhall – 4th Place Original Oratory Cash Mendenhall – 1st Place

Glenbrooks Speech and Debate Tournament

Falcon Classic Clear Lake Tompkins Swing

Alta Silver and Black Invitational

CX Summerhays & Wall - Doubles PF May & Senthilkumar - Octas

Dec Patriot Pride Tournament Isidore Newman School Invitational

CX Pai & Wall – Octas
CX Speaker Award R. Sterling Peterson – 4th Place

Mustang Madness

The Paradigm Dowling Catholic

Congress Olivia Hoffmann – Finals Extemp Adelaide Parker – Finals PF Agarwal & Young - Doubles

Red Rock Classic

John Edie Holiday Debates

College Prep LD Invitational

Billy Tate Southern Bell Forum at MBA

Arizona State HDSHC Invitational

CX Galian & Rice – Finals
CX Speaker Award Madeline Galian – 8th Place
CX Peterson & Sharma - Doubles

UDCA Speech Arts Speech 2020

Gonzaga University The Conway Classic

48th Annual Laird Lewis Invitational at Myers Park HS

Copper Classic

Congress Olivia Hoffmann – Finals LD Amrita Krishna – Finals PF Liu & Taussky – Finals Speaker Award Noa Taussky – 1st Place Speaker Award Daphne Liu – 2nd Place

MCJ Tournament Online

IMP Megan Tandar – Semis POI Priyasna Shrestha - Finals

Layton Luau

Golden Desert Debate Tournament at UNLV

Omaha Westside Warrior Invitational

CX Peterson & Sharma – Quarters
CX Speaker Award R. Sterling Peterson – 7th Place
CX Summerhays & Wall - Quarters

Justin Wilson Debates Pace RR

CX Galian & Rice – 6th Place

Falcon Frenzy

Barkley Forum for High Schools

Pennsbury Falcon Invitational

The Davis Dart

35th Annual Stanford Invitational

California Round Robin

CX Galian & Rice - 5th Place

Bingham PF and Policy Invitational

CX Aoki & Pai – Quarters
CX Summerhays & Wall – Semis
CX Speaker Award R. Sterling Peterson – 5th Place
CX Speaker Award Ishan Sharma – 7th Place

Cal Invitational UC Berkeley

CX Galian & Rice – Semis
CX Speaker Award Madeline Galian – 7th Place
Extemp Adelaide Parker - Quarters

Great Salt Lake NSDA District Tournament

CX Peterson & Sharma – 1st Place
CX Aoki & Pai – 3rd Place
House Tanya Yu – 4th Place
Informative Henry Kuwahara – 4th Place
International Extemp Alicia Du – 1st Place
International Extemp Tony Zhang – 5th Place
PF May & Senthilkumar – 4th Place
PF Agarwal & Young – 5th Place
POI Priyasna Shrestha – 1st Place
Senate Olivia Hoffmann – 3rd Place
US Extemp Adelaide Parker – 2nd Place



Salt Lake NCFL Qualifier

PF May & Senthilkumar – 4th Place LD Amrita Krishna – 4th Place

UHSAA Region 3 Tournament

West High Wins Region 3 Congress Anika Rao – 1st Place Congress Olivia Hoffmann – 2nd Place Congress Tanya Yu – 3rd Place Congress Dalan Mier – 8th Place CX Galian & Rice - 1st Place CX Peterson & Sharma – 2nd Place CX Aoki & Pai – 3rd Place CX Summerhays & Wall – 4th Place Foreign Extemp Alicia Du – 1st Place Foreign Extemp Cash Mendenhall – 2nd Place Foreign Extemp Tony Zhang – 4th Place Foreign Extemp Lorenzo Sivels – 5th Place Impromptu Megan Tandar – 1st Place Impromptu Olivia Wu – 7th Place LD Amrita Krishna – 1st Place LD Henry Zheng – 4th Place LD Raghav Krishna Sodisetti – 5th Place LD Brylee Cruz – 6th Place National Extemp Adelaide Parker – 1st Place National Extemp Imani Stott – 9th Place National Extemp Tanuj Chavakula – 10th Place Original Oratory Diya Oommen – 2nd Place Original Oratory Priyasna Shrestha – 5th Place Original Oratory Audrey Young - 8th Place PF Liu & Mussett Shaw – 1st Place PF May & Senthilkumar – 2nd Place PF Agarwal & Young – 4rd Place PF Liu & Taussky – 6th Place

UHSAA 6A State Tournament

West High Wins 6A State
CX Summerhays & Wall — 1st Place
CX Peterson & Sharma — 3rd Place
CX Aoki & Pai — 4th Place
CX Galian & Rice — 5th Place
Congress Anika Rao — 6th Place
Congress Olivia Hoffmann — 7th Place
Congress Tanya Yu — 8th Place
Congress Tanya Yu — 8th Place
Foreign Extemp Cash Mendenhall — 1st Place
Foreign Extemp Alicia Du — 4th Place
National Extemp Adelaide Parker — 3rd Place
LD Amrita Krishna — 3rd Place
Original Oratory Audrey Young — 5th Place

Original Oratory Diya Oommen – 7th Place
Original Oratory Priyasna Shrestha – 8th Place
PF Liu & Taussky – 1st Place
PF Agarwal & Young – 1st Place
PF Liu & Mussett Shaw – 3rd Place
PF May & Senthilkumar – 5th Place

MSDL Online Speech & Debate Spring Fling

Utah Tournament of Excellence

PF Agarwal & Young – 1st Place

Tournament of Champions

CX Galian & Rice – Octas Extemp Adelaide Parker – Octas PF May & Senthilkumar

Western States All Stars

CX Speaker Award R. Sterling Peterson – 8th Place CX Speaker Award Ishan Sharma – 10th Place

NCFCA Regional Tournament

NCFL Grand National Tournament

National Speech and Debate Tournament

National Top 10 High School Debate Coaches Poll

Galian / Rice - CX

UHSAA Academic All-Star

Madeline Galian

TOC First Time Breaks

Adelaide Parker – Extemp Galian / Rice - CX

UHSAA Record Points at Region

West came home with both the Debate and Speech Trophies with a total of 148 points. Next up was Bingham with 58, Copper Hills with 47, Herriman with 26, and Jordan with 19.

UHSAA Record Points at 6A State

Our team scored 125 points and the second place team scored 66!